Earlier this week I pulled up wordpress to cobble together an online presence for a great event coming up in November, the Harrisburg Cranksgiving. It’s going to be a heck of a lot of fun, so If you are in town on November 18th, please come out and join us!

It dawned on me that it had been some time since I paid any real attention to the 2012 in 2012 challenge. It’s been a busy summer – much of it was joyfully spent on planning and celebrating our nuptials, and soaking in the sights and sounds of a Peruvian honeymoon. I also competed in a few trail races, and spent as much time as possible paddling, hiking, biking, and running in the summer sun.

With three months left in the year (actually 89 days at this point), I dutifully pulled up DailyMile to see how much distance has been recorded. Now, I know that I’ve not been as regimented about logging miles as I should have. I’ve certainly missed a race or two and plenty of utilitarian bike trips, and haven’t recorded any paddling miles. That being said, in the interest of transparency, I can’t go back and guesstimate and will stick with those miles recorded.

As of this morning, I’ve logged 1,163 total miles in 2012. Going by this number, I’ll need to average just over 9.5 miles per day to complete the challenge! For a guy that doesn’t tick off century rides every weekend, this will certainly be a tough goal to hit. By adding some mileage to my work commute, and throwing in some long runs on the weekends, I still believe I can pull it off.

If you are looking for me over the next 3 months, I’ll be guy riding back and forth on Riverfront park on an old Mongoose Mt Bike…

